Mi Querido Viejo

imagesWith Father’s Day fast approaching,  I’d like to take a moment and let you guys in on a little movie about a father called, “Mi Querido Viejo.” It translates to “my dear old dad.”

Staring in this film is Mexico’s National Tresure, Vicente “Chente” Fernández. He’s the guy that sings really loud and has a huge mustache. When performing, he wears a traditional charro outfit with the big hat. Ring any bells yet? Also in the film is his talented son, Alejandro Fernández.

Maybe this video will help you remember who he is:

 

Here, he sings the song of the movie. (Translated Lyrics)

The movie follows the life of Luis Fuentes (Vicente’s character) and his life of superstardom. Like in real life, Luis Fuentes is a singer. Once he makes it big, he leaves his family to tour. Being gone for so long leads his son and wife to be really resentful towards him. This causes drama between the family. I won’t spoil it too much, but if you want to cry you should definitely watch it.

I remember watching it with my dad and two brothers one day. I had never seen so many grown men cry all at once, especially super machista guys. It was a great day for me though. I got to bond with men who actually had their guard down for about 96 minutes. 

This is a phenomenal movie. One of my favorites actually. (I love it so much I just bought it on amazon for like $6 for fathers day!) It reminds me of the love I have for music, my father, and obviously “Chente.”

Plus, it’s like super old school cinema (since it was released in 1991).

Leave a comment